Day 2: Thwarted by sulphites… or was I?

Bloody sulphites. How I underestimated you. You’re everywhere but yet invisible at the same time. And you got me this time, didn’t you. And one thing’s for sure… the placebo effect of starting a new diet didn’t last all that long.

Well, it’s only day 2 and I’ve already fluffed it.

The three most dangerous words I can say to myself at the moment when it comes to food are ‘it’ll be OK’ – or is that technically four words because of the contraction? It doesn’t matter. The point is, I have a tendency to convince myself that everything will be alright. It’s good in a lot of ways – keeps my stress down, helps me stay happy in relationships and at work. But when it comes to tackling an autoimmune disease with an extremely limiting diet, ‘it’ll be OK’ is lethal.

And I found that out this evening. Actually, I’ve found that out many times, but I’ve never been in the midst of a challenge before as to make me so acutely aware of it. Yesterday I told you about the fact that a few of the meals we had planned for this week would now have to be modified to be AIP friendly. That included the recipe for tonight which was supposed to be slow-cooked coconut chicken. Now, that all sounds good, right? Coconut? Chicken? No problem there…. well, the problem was actually in a bunch of the spices. But I’d already defrosted the chicken, so what’s a girl to do?

Herb and Coconut Crusted Chicken Breasts of course! Yep, I spent some of my lunch break today looking at what I could do with the ingredients that were already in the house and this one came up. Looked yummy. It was VERY yummy. The thing is, I didn’t technically have all the ingredients in the house. Not the specific ones the recipe calls for anyway. You know, the ones that would have made the recipe actually AIP friendly instead of a bastardised version.

The recipe calls for organic shredded coconut. I did have some left, but not as much as was needed. I did, however have some not organic shredded coconut and when I checked the ingredients, it said Sulphur Dioxide and Contains Sulphites. It was right there in front of me. It wasn’t even being as sneaky as I suggested in my opening paragraph. It’s not like I noticed afterwards. I was hungry, it was dinner time, and when I found that the ingredient I needed was not strictly AIP friendly, instead of thinking ‘oh well, I guess I’ll rub the chicken in olive oil and herbs and fry it up as it is,’ I thought ‘it’ll be OK’ and used the bloody stuff anyway. BIG MISTAKE.

Herb and Coconut Crusted Chicken Breasts

They were damn tasty though. But then so is pizza and I don’t eat that. Cyanide smells like almonds, but I don’t eat that. Almonds wouldn’t be AIP-friendly anyway…

So, down to my damn stupidity, I’m now propped up in bed at not even 9pm writing this blog in the most pain I’ve been in since eating some green chillies a few weeks ago. I have a hot water bottle rested on my tummy/bladder and my Chromebook rested on that and I’m cursing the sulphites when really it’s my stupid fault for eating them.

Just before I started writing this, I was researching the effect of sulphites on sufferers of Interstitial Cystitis and came across an article on Chemicals or Food that cause Interstitial Cystitis. Sulphites are definitely in there, along with a bunch of other stuff that I’m avoiding on AIP anyway. But then I read…

most fruit except for blueberries, honeydew melon and pears

Great. I was eating an apple at the time… because sometimes when I’m in pain, I crave something sweet and it was a better option than Boyfriend’s double stuff Oreos. I guess it’s because I’m conditioned to find comfort in sweet foods. And because my body hates me. So, it looks like I might be limiting my fruit intake to the above. And then I noticed there was Citric Acid in the coconut milk I used – not a brand I normally buy, but we had a token for it at Tesco. Not worth the 35p discount.

Oh yea, and in another search on sulphites, someone brought up that the sneaky beggars are often found in Balsamic Vinegar. I checked the bottle I used on my salad yesterday. Yup. Sulphites. Great. So, I actually never even made it to the 2nd day of this challenge without messing it up completely. I screwed it up on the 1st. Well, at least I’ve made this a 60 day challenge. That should give me a good month to actually get it right, so I have a higher chance of getting a whole month of actual Autoimmune Protocol eating.

Who knows whether it was the sulphites or the citric acid that brought on the pain? And would it be this bad if I hadn’t eaten that damn apple soon after? That’s one of the frustrating things about Interstitial Cystitis: I still don’t have the full picture of what my triggers are. Hopefully, by the time I get this diet right and manage it for a longer period, I can start to find out.

All I’m hoping for now is for the bladder pain to ease down in the next hour so I can get a good night’s sleep and start afresh tomorrow. I’ve brewed myself a cup of Snore and Peace tea (camomile, lemonbalm, and lavendar) to help on the sleep front. Hope there’s nothing problematic in there. I guess the other two chicken breasts I cooked will be awaiting Boyfriend when he gets home from his conference tomorrow. And I’ll have to think of something else for lunch.

Gah!


Food diary
Breakfast: Slice of unsmoked bacon with sautéed spinach
Lunch: Last night’s leftover Asparagus Stuffed Chicken and baby leaf salad
Dinner: Herb and Coconut Crusted Chicken Breasts and steamed savoy cabbage
Snacks: 1 rosy red apple

Pain level (out of 10)
3 all day, 6 after dinner and through the evening

One thought on “Day 2: Thwarted by sulphites… or was I?

  1. Pingback: Day 22: My sugary downfall | My 60 day Autoimmune Protocol Challenge

Leave a Reply

