Day 6: Date night, eating out, and garlic coconut prawns

What a wonderful day. It’s Saturday, which means it’s the weekend, so that’s already a better start than the last five days, but not only that, it’s also unseasonally mild for October and the sun was shining. A great day for getting outside and soaking up some good old Vitamin D (especially as I’ve had to stop taking the Vit D supplements I was taking – stupid caking agents or bulking agents or whatever they are). OK, so we are still in the north of England, so it wasn’t glorious sunshine, and it still rained every now and again, but whatever. Why am I still talking about the weather?

Ahem. So I walked the dog, went into town to meet a friend for lunch, bought myself a citrus press for all the grapefruit I’ll be squeezing this week for my smoothies, went to the butchers who always laugh at me for how much meat I buy compared to my size, and had a relaxing afternoon grazing and drinking marshmallow root tea.

But what was I grazing on when nuts, seeds, and chocolate are banned? Welcome to my new vice… dates. I think I actually prefer them to any of the above, but rest assured, they are full of sugar, however natural and I should really be limiting myself to one handful a day. But they are so moreish. I’m finding it difficult to control myself.

Handful of dates

I figured I should probably take a picture of the dates for this post. But really it was just an excuse to get another handful… :/

Now, on AIP you’re really only meant to have two portions of fruit a day. With my excessive date intake, I must have pushed myself up to at least three portions today as I had a small punnet of blueberries too. Luckily, they don’t seem to be having any adverse effects or giving me any pain, but I feel like I really should be more careful. Eating so many dates feels a bit like cheating. But then on the other hand, this diet is VERY restrictive and I also think it’s important to treat yourself at times… in order to keep yourself sane and happy. So it’s a tough one.

Apart from the dates, I was also not 100% AIP at lunchtime. Meeting a friend for lunch was tough as there was literally nothing on the menu I could have, but as I’m finding all the time, restaurants are usually really happy to change things about to accommodate you, and I ended up having some beautiful rare lamb steak with green beans and sautéed mushrooms (I got them to remove the gravy, potatoes, and redcurrant jelly). Unfortunately, I could see the kitchen from where I was sitting and I did see the chef rub some butter onto the lamb before he brought it out. I just ate it.

So, that’s two rules broken today. Not good. But while I refuse to beat myself up about it and just take tomorrow as another day of the challenge, I am definitely beginning to understand why people recommend you don’t eat out at all while you’re on the AIP diet. It’s not easy, and you can almost guarantee whatever you eat will contain some banned food. It sucks. There has to be a gap in the market here.

Lesson learned: Slipped up a few times today? Don’t beat yourself, just pick out the positives, move on and treat tomorrow with a clean slate and a brand new challenge.

Anyway, back at home in the evening has been easier and obviously completely within my control. Boyfriend’s working tlate tonight so I came up with this quick and simple recipe for myself.


Garlic coconut prawns

This took all of five minutes. Very simple and tasty. I didn’t throw any herbs or anything in here, but I imagine a squeeze of lime on top would work great too.

Garlic Coconut Prawns (totally paleo and AIP-friendly

Ingredients:

  • Handful of biggish raw prawns, peeled and de-veined
  • Couple of spoonfuls of dessicated coconut
  • Couple of cloves of garlic, crushed
  • Coconut oil

Method:

  1. Melt the coconut oil in the pan, throw in the prawns and garlic and cook until pink
  2. Throw in the dessicated coconut and toss the prawns in it so they’re coated
  3. Cook until the coconut starts to turn brown
  4. Serve over baby salad leaves

That’s it. This only serves one as it was just me in the house, but it’ll easily double up. It’s not the most filling dish in the world, but since I was full up on dates and I had a big dinner, it did the trick for me. If you try it, let me know what you think. Now I’m going to enjoy the rest of my relaxing evening with a good book and a big mug of camomile tea.


Food diary
Breakfast: 2 slices of grilled bacon with half an avocado
Lunch: Lamb steak with green beans and sautéed mushrooms
Dinner: Garlic coconut shrimp
Snacks: Punnet of blueberries, handful (or two… OK, probably more than I should have) of dates

Pain level (out of 10)
Started off at about 2 this morning, went down to 0 for most of the day, went up to 2 again just before dinner and back down to 0 again now.

2 thoughts on “Day 6: Date night, eating out, and garlic coconut prawns

  1. Pingback: Day 28: How to buy AIP Paleo-friendly snacks | My 60 day Autoimmune Protocol Challenge

  2. Pingback: Day 52: That was a hard fall | My 60 day Autoimmune Protocol Challenge

Leave a Reply

