Day 8: If you don’t like the weather, wait half an hour

That’s what they say about the changeable nature of the weather in Britain. I’ve always liked the phrase. It’s witty and funny and so true… and things are funnier when they’re true. But right now, this phrase sounds just a bit too much like it’s describing my day. A bit too much for comfort.

I made a decision this morning that I was going to have a great day. I woke up and walked the dog to a backdrop of the most beautiful sunrise.

Beautiful sunrise over a bridge

It really was a beautiful morning

I made conscious efforts to breathe deeply while strolling through the woods. I walked leisurely to work instead of speedily weaving through the crowds of commuters. And proceeded to have a zen-like day.

Until 6pm.

Yea, I know. Everything is fine all day at work, then as soon as I leave… bam!

I step off the train and notice a FB message from Boyfriend sent just a moment ago. I answer and tell him he needs to leave work or he’ll be late for dinner. I have a doctor’s appointment at 7.40pm and he’s driving me. He’d got confused and thought it was 8.30pm. I don’t know why, but I was more annoyed than I usually would be at this slip-up. Strange since I’ve been able to rise above anything else that has happened during the work day. Not Boyfriend’s fault at all. These things happen.

I stop by the Co-op on the way back and pick up some parsnips. Nothing terrible happened in Co-op.

I get home and the house smells amazing. I’ve had sausage casserole in the slow cooker all day, using the stock I made from the leftover chicken carcass yesterday. I take a spoon from the draw and slowly raise a steaming morsel to my lips.

It’s vile.

And tasteless.

I try a piece of the sausage. It turns to mush in my mouth. The whole things is a watery disaster. How can this have happened? I used to make sausage casserole all the time! What gives? And then I realise. This happens almost every time I make a casserole of any kind. And guess what I turn to:

  • tomato paste
  • brown sauce
  • Henderson’s Relish
  • gravy granules
  • stock cubes
  • grated potato (to thicken up the sauce)

See anything wrong with this list? Oh yea. EVERYTHING on that list embodies the epitome of ‘DO NOT INCLUDE’ when you’re following the Autoimmune Protocol diet. AAARRRRGGGHHHHH! If I was just cooking for me, I wouldn’t care. But this whole diet has been hard enough on Boyfriend as it is and at least the food I was managing to turn out was still tasty. This is a mess.

I put the parsnips in the Actifry with some duck fat, herbs, salt and pepper to make kettle chips. At least these will be tasty.

I hastily add more salt, pepper and herbs to the casserole along with a healthy serving of garlic powder. Taste. Way too much garlic powder. Grrrr. I figure some of the garlic powder flavour will calm down after a few minutes. It does. I add a tiny bit of apple cider vinegar in an attempt to balance out the flavours. That actually works a little bit. I try a bit of maple syrup. That sort of works too. Nothing can be done to save the soggy sausage though.

This is a dinner disaster, make no mistake. I’ve advised Boyfriend to order a take away. He took one look at the casserole and figured that was a pretty good plan.

As well as this, because I was already on a bit of a downer when I walked in, I went straight for the bag of dates – the same way I would have reached for chocolate and/or red wine in the past. As soon as I had one, I felt a twinge of pain in my bladder. I don’t know if this is coincidence, but I’ve been operating at pretty much zero pain all day and as soon as I get home and start tucking into the dates, here we have it. I’m up to about a 3 or 4 on the pain front at the moment. Could be the dates, could be a change in mood – I think I possibly am a bit more sensitive to pain when I’m not feeling 100% happy.

Who knows. But it’s not contributing to what I was hoping would be an evening to mirror the calm and peaceful day I had. I have to head out the door to get to my doctor’s appointment any minute now. I guess I’ll end up eating the casserole in some form. Wish I could make it into a soup of some kind, but I think it will be just as disgusting. Nothing I can do to change it, I guess. It’s not the end of the world.

Just goes to show that even when you’re trying to pull positives out of every negative aspect of your life, some things can just come and trip you up… especially when they take you unawares. Now, I have to assume the rest of my evening will go smoothly, make the most of the dinner I’ve got and hope Boyfriend enjoys his takeaway.

Lesson learned: We can have 100 positives in a day and just one negative. But which one do we dwell on? Time to move on quickly from the negatives and give energy to the positive things that happen in our day… and spend time dwelling on those.


Food diary
Breakfast: Avocado Grapefruit Smoothie
Lunch: Leftover roast chicken with salad
Dinner: Disastrous sausage casserole and parsnip ‘kettle chips’
Snacks: Small punnet of blueberries, too big a handful of dates

Pain level (out of 10)
Started out at 1, which turned to 0 throughout most of the day. Ramped up to a good 4 by early evening… I think this must be due to the dates. 

Leave a Reply

