Day 34: Marinated tuna with stir fry veg and cauliflower rice recipe

I am not a cook. I mean, I like cooking, but I’m not great at making up my own recipes (now that I don’t have tomatoes, pasta, and cheese to fall back on). So, maybe I’m not a chef rather than not a cook. Whatever. Anyway, I think the grand total of recipes I’ve posted on this blog so far is 1. I am now going to increase that number by 100%.

As you can tell by my fairly excitable first paragraph, I’m pretty happy with myself for putting this recipe together. Not only is it using very AIP ingredients (some of which I’d never heard of two months ago), but it is freaking tasty! And healthy… of course. And most importantly it passes the Boyfriend tests of which there are two: 1. Taste; 2. Satiety. And we’re both pretty full up, so hurrah!

I’m also in a very good mood today because I took some time for myself to go shopping this morning in the town centre. I had to go to the butcher’s anyway, but thought I’d treat myself to a few bits and pieces on the way. One of the bits was a new pair of boots and one of the pieces was THE MOST COMFORTABLE PAIR OF PJS EVER. Seriously, I tried them on when I got home and I haven’t taken them off since. That was 2pm. It’s like being wrapped in a super-warm perfectly-fitted blanket. And then I lay on the sofa under a different blanket and it all got very confusing. And cosy. But anyway, back to the recipe…


Grilled tuna and stir fry veg

The red cabbage dyed my whole stir fry purple! Very pretty though.

Marinated tuna with stir fry veg and cauliflower rice

Serves 2 – use about 400g tuna steak (or slightly more if you like). We defrosted a bag of frozen tuna steak from Aldi which cost about £3.

Ingredients for marinade

  • 1 tbsp paleo fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1 spring onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger (we keep ours in the freezer and grate when we need it)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Ingredients for stir fry

  • Coconut oil (or fat of your choice for frying)
  • Any stir fry veg or leftover veggies thinly sliced. I used red cabbage, savoy cabbage, cauliflower stalks (after making the cauliflower rice), and half a red onion.
  • paleo fish sauce
  • 4 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • coconut aminos
  • coconut palm sugar (maple syrup would probably work as well)
  • salt and pepper (omit pepper if on really strict AIP)

Ingredients for cauliflower rice

  • Caulflower
  • fresh parsley or chive (optional)
  • salt for seasoning

Method

  1. Mix all marinade ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Put tuna steaks in a zip-lock bag followed by marinade and make sure the tuna is well coated
  3. Leave to marinade for a few hours (I prepared this in the morning around 11am and cooked it around 6pm)
  4. Grate cauliflower into a separate bowl and set aside
  5. Chop all your stir fry veg into thin strips
  6. Heat coconut oil in a wok
  7. Throw all veg in and cook on medium high heat until soft (this took about 15-20 minutes as we used so much cabbage and cauliflower)
  8. Meanwhile, stick the tuna steaks on a griddle (medium heat) for approximately 3-4 minutes each side. You could probably grill or pan fry the tuna instead – entirely up to you).
  9. Pour the leftover marinade into the partly-cooked stir fry veg
  10. Add a splash of fish sauce and coconut aminos, about 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar or other sweetener, rest of garlic and salt and pepper
  11. Taste and add more of any of those ingredients until you have a lovely salty sweet soy sauce kind of flavour
  12. When cooked through, set aside and keep warm
  13. Heat more coconut oil
  14. Add grated cauliflower to the wok as well as a bit of salt and fresh herbs if you wish
  15. Cook on a low heat for about 4 or 5 minutes, stirring constantly
  16. Serve it up and enjoy!

Let me know how it goes. I’ll be putting this in my ‘definitely cook again’ pile.


Food Diary
Breakfast: Leftover maple sausage patties, sautéed mushrooms and spinach with a bit of garlic. Pear for afters.
Lunch: Slice of ox tongue, few slices of salt beef, and mixed leaf salad with a bit of apple cider vinegar. Persimmon for afters.
Dinner: Marinated tuna with stir fry veg and cauliflower rice (as above). Banana and maple syrup for afters.
Snacks:

Pain level (out of 10)
Quite pinchy again this morning and I’m not sleeping as deeply this week. Don’t know why. Pain went away by about 10am, but was back by 3.30pm at about level 4 or 5. It’s gone now and has been for the last couple of hours. Hopefully that’ll be it for the day. I am now convinced I have an infection that isn’t from E. Coli so have started to take antibiotics (Nitrofurantain). Not happy about it, but hopefully it will help.

Leave a Reply

